Use the iPhone Notes app to secretly send messages to your friends

You can have a secret chat on your iPhone thanks to this Apple app

Every text you send and receive leaves a trail, and while this isn’t usually a problem, there may be times when you want your conversations to be more private. This is one of the reasons why apps like snap chat And the Signal It became very popular.

However, you do not need to download a third-party app to have more secret conversations on your iPhone. Alternatively, you can use a built-in app that can be used to send temporary and hidden messages to your friends and family – and it’s been around ever since. iOS 10.

The Notes The app lets you collaborate with others on notes, whether it’s grocery lists or collections of dad jokes. Anyone who participates in a collaborative note can edit it in real time – this is what you can use to have hidden conversations. You can have an incredibly long personal conversation – without any permanent evidence of its existence whatsoever.

To learn how to turn a note into a hidden conversation on iOS, here’s what you need to know. And while you’re at it, check out a file The hidden trackpad that lives in your iOS keyboard and these Seven hidden iOS 16 features you need to know.

First, create a note in the Notes app

On your iPhone, launch the Notes app and tap Composer Button at the bottom right to create a new note. Next, write anything in the note to keep, otherwise it will be automatically deleted when you exit the note. You can also move to a note that already exists, but it’s best to start over with a new note.

Notes app on iPhone

First, create a new note or move to an existing note.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Adjust your note sharing options to add collaborators

Once your note is ready to use, you can start the process of adding another person as a collaborator, which means they can read and edit whatever is in the note. To get started, tap more at the top right, then tap Share a note.

Now press Share options and make sure that can make changes The option is selected under Permission. You also have to switch Anyone can add people In case you want to be the only one who can add collaborators to your note. Return to the last page when you are finished configuring these settings.

Notes app on iPhone

Second, manage what your collaborators can do.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Add the friends you want to include and share the link

Next, choose a way to share the note: you can send it via text, email, social media, and more. If you scroll on the sharing options, you can also select Copy the linkwhich copies the note’s link to your clipboard and allows you to paste it wherever you want.

In this example, I will choose File Copy the link Memo sharing option.

At the top of the Copy Link page, enter the email address or phone number of the person you want to access the note. You can also click File Add An icon to search through your contacts. Adding a contact to the note is required – If you share the link without adding a contact, the other person won’t be able to see or edit the note, even using the link.

Finally, hit copy end to end To copy the note link to your clipboard and share it with the collaborator.

Notes app on iPhone

Next, add the collaborator(s).

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Send secret messages with Notes

The other person, on the receiving end, must now open the note link and accept the invitation. If they agree, they will be redirected to the Notes app and to the collaborative note you just created.

To communicate, simply type something into the note, which the other person will be able to see in real time, without having to hit send. They will also receive a notification any time the note is changed.

Everyone in the note will be shown a matching color (just for a moment) so everyone else knows who wrote what. You can also swipe up from the middle of the note to see the name of who wrote the message, as well as the timestamp of when the message was written and any corresponding colors.

Notes app on iPhone

Now you can secretly communicate with your friends or family.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

You can also click File Share a note button (with a check mark icon), go to Shared note management Then switch Mark all changes. This way, all messages will always be marked in the corresponding color, making the conversation easier to read.

And if you want to keep your communications low-level, delete your message or the other person’s message to delete it from the note. This way your conversation will be more like on Snapchat, with ephemeral or short-lived messages that strangers can’t see if they’re snooping on your notes. You can do this with any text in the notes, as well as photos, videos, links, graphics, or any other attachments you add to the note.

Permanently delete your secret chat

Not all secret conversations can last forever, so now is the time to end them.

If you are the owner of the note and you want to keep the note intact for everyone but prevent them from editing it, you can do that easily. At the top right, tap View participants button and then press Shared note management. To remove a participant, you can either swipe left on their name and press Removal Or you can click on its name and then click on remove access.

Notes app on iPhone

To end the notes conversation, remove any collaborators or stop sharing the note.

Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Additionally, you can click stop sharing The option, which will not only remove the participants from the note, but also delete the note from all their devices.

If you are not the owner of the note, you can just delete the note from the Notes app.

#secret #chat #iPhone #Apple #app

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *