What does a network settings reset do on an iPhone?

What does a network settings reset do on an iPhone?

Many iPhone features, from sending and receiving emails to checking the weather forecast, need an active internet connection. But, there are cases when you find that your iPhone does not connect to the internet even though it is connected to WiFi or mobile data. To fix this, you may need to reset your network settings.

Are there frequent disconnections while using Wi-Fi? Or maybe the bluetooth has stopped working. Resetting network settings often fixes these and other network connectivity issues.

However, this will reset your mobile device for a number of services to its factory default settings. Your cellular preferences, Wi-Fi network name and password, Bluetooth device pairing, etc. will be reset to defaults. To learn more about it, read the full article.

In this article, we will tell you what network reset settings do on iPhones and other mobile devices.

What happens when you reset network settings?

Usually, on any mobile device, you can manually delete specific information regarding your internet connection, WiFi or paired devices. For example, you can delete or remove a WiFi network that you no longer use without affecting other WiFi networks.

However, if you choose to reset your network settings, you will lose access not only to the Wi-Fi network you are currently logged on to, but also to any previously saved Wi-Fi passwords, Bluetooth pairing, mobile network preferences, and stored VPN information .

What else will you lose when resetting network settings?

Network settings resets should not be confused with factory resets. When network settings are reset, all Internet, local network, and device information associated with it is deleted. When you do a factory reset, your device will restore its original settings, just as it was when you first opened the box.

The files, folders, and media on your device will remain the same even after you reset the network settings. It will also not clear your browser history or bookmarks.

Here is a list of data that is deleted from network settings when you reset network settings:

  • WiFi connections and passwords
  • Set preferences regarding Bluetooth connectivity.
  • VPN settings, local history, and preferences.

When you reset your iPhone or Android network settings, you will not lose any data or features associated with your mobile service provider. This reset only changes the WiFi, Bluetooth, etc. mobile preferences you made after setting up your device.

Why do you need to reset network settings on your iPhone?

There are instances when you will encounter a problem where you cannot use the internet even though it is connected to WiFi or mobile data. After that, it is possible that you will need to reset your internet settings to resolve the issues.

In the following cases, a network settings reset might be the best option for you.

  • Your WiFi is inaccessible or disconnects more frequently than usual so you have to constantly reconnect it.
  • There are instances when you cannot make a call because the phone signal is weak or completely dead.
  • Despite the fast internet, the Wi-Fi is very slow.
  • Even after several attempts, you cannot connect to the VPN servers.
  • The bluetooth does not connect even after several attempts.
  • Mobile data is turned on automatically.

Alternatives to “Reset Network Settings”

There are many alternatives to reset internet settings that you can try first if you are having network issues. Network reset is an extreme procedure. In this section, we will go through some options to fix iPhone network issues other than a reset.

  • Turn Airplane mode on and off after a minute.
  • Reconnect to WiFi after disconnecting.
  • Restart your iOS device.
  • Check the network on another device to see if there is a problem with the WiFi network.
  • Make sure you are within the WiFi coverage area.
  • Check carrier settings are updated.
  • Restart the modem and router
  • Reinstall the sim card on your iOS device.
  • Check the cable connection on your WiFi network
  • Check to see if there is an update pending on iOS.
  • Contact your service provider.

How to reset network settings on iOS?

If even the above alternatives did not work for you, then you will have to reset the network settings on your iPhone. The process is quite simple and does not require any technical expertise. Heres how to do it.

  • First, head over to the Settings app on the iPhone.
  • In the list of options, tap “General”.
  • Now, scroll down to the bottom of the list where you will notice the “Reset” option. Click on it.
  • On the next page, you will see all the options that you can reset. There are a lot of items that you can reset including settings, network settings, keyboard settings, home screen layout, location settings, etc. From the menu, tap Reset Network Settings.
  • For security reasons, it will ask for a passcode. Enter the passcode and the reset will take place.

Hope you got all the knowledge about resetting network settings on your iPhone. Now you know all the consequences and consequences of a network reset. You can also try some of the alternatives mentioned above. In case of any doubt, let us know in the comments section below.

#network #settings #reset #iPhone

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *