Is your iPhone home screen broken? Or have you lost apps from there? Whatever the reason, resetting the home screen layout will fix most issues with your iPhone screen. But what is meant by resetting the home screen layout on iPhone and how to do it? Find the answer in this post.
This post covers the meaning of resetting the home screen layout, the steps to do it, and the outcome of resetting the home screen layout on an iPhone. Let’s get started.
What is a Home Screen Layout Reset on iPhone
Apple allows you Reset your iPhone in several ways. For example, you can Reset network settingsOr keyboard dictionary or location and privacy settings or reset all settings on your iPhone. In addition to that, you can also reset your iPhone’s home screen layout.
Reset Home Screen Layout, in simple words, restores the default layout of the iPhone home screen. This is done by rearranging the apps and widgets the way they were when you purchased the iPhone. Thus, a reset brings your iPhone home screen back to normal.
advice: Learn how Reset iPhone without losing data.
How to reset the home screen on iPhone
To restore your iPhone’s default home screen, follow these steps:
Step 1: Open Settings on your iPhone.
Step 2: Go to General followed by Move or Reset iPhone at the bottom of the screen.
advice: Learn how Change the default language of your iPhone.
Step 3: Click Reset.
The fourth step: Tap on the Reset Home Screen Layout option. A confirmation screen will appear. Tap Reset Home Screen.
This is it. You have successfully restored the default Apple Home screen on your iPhone.
What happens when you reset the home screen layout on iPhone
Let’s check in detail what happens to different things by resetting the home screen layout on the iPhone.
The first thing you’ll notice is your iPhone’s default home screen. That is, all pre-installed Apple applications will return to their default position, which means that they will be arranged in the order they were initially arranged when you purchased the device. Please note that these apps are not arranged alphabetically but in the way Apple thinks will suit most users.
When it comes to the manually installed apps on your iPhone, they will be arranged in alphabetical order. Also, the four apps i.e. Phone, Messages, Safari, and Music will only be added to the dock if they are repositioned or removed from the home screen.
Any widgets added manually will be removed from the home screens. Only widgets that were in the default or original home screen layout will appear. This includes the weather and calendar on the first home screen page.
Any folder you created on the home screen will be deleted. The apps inside will be arranged based on whether they are pre-installed or installed manually.
Resetting the home screen layout will not bring back restricted apps. You have to unrestrict them from iPhone Settings > Screen Time > Content & Privacy Restrictions > Allowed Apps. Check out other methods Add missing app icons back on the iPhone home screen.
Application data and settings
Resetting the home screen layout will not uninstall any app from your iPhone or delete its data. Only the location of apps on the home screen is affected. Likewise, it will not affect other iPhone settings like Wi-Fi connections, permissions, notifications, etc.
home screen pages
As expected, resetting the home screen layout will delete all custom pages you have created. Any apps added to those pages will be arranged in the default order. Moreover, any hidden pages will also be deleted and removed.
advice: Learn how Hide apps and pages from the iPhone home screen.
The Website shortcuts that have been added on the home screen will not be deleted but will be arranged in alphabetical order along with other installed apps.
Using the iPhone home screen reset layout does not affect the Application library.
Questions and answers about resetting the iPhone home screen layout
Just like with any other reset procedure, you cannot undo resetting the home screen layout. You will have to manually rearrange the apps and widgets in the custom order.
As the name suggests, resetting settings will restore all iPhone settings to default, such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, permissions, sound settings, etc. It will also reset the home screen layout. However, neither the app nor any of your personal data will be deleted.
Open the App Library on your iPhone. Search for the desired application using the search bar in the application library. Next, long-press the app’s icon in the search results and drag it to the home screen.
Customize your iPhone
Once you reset the home screen layout to default on the iPhone, you can customize the device to your liking. For example, you can Change app icons on iPhone And the Create custom widgets. You can even Customize your iPhone’s lock screen.
#reset #home #screen #layout #iPhone #default