How to Delete Videos on TikTok

How to Delete TikTok Video on Android, iPhone, and Computer

There are many reasons why you might want to delete a TikTok video. Maybe the video didn’t play well, or the edit wasn’t synced with the video, or the video wasn’t getting as much response as you expected. Well, the starting point of deleting the video can happen at any point during the process. So here is a comprehensive guide on how to do it delete TikTok video.

You can delete a video on TikTok from the Recording, Editing and Posting screen, or even after posting. Although the process is easy, there is no way to recover videos at once Deleted. So if you are sure, then proceed with the next steps.

NB: All the methods mentioned below are applicable to both Android and iOS.

How to delete a TikTok video before posting

Once you are done with the video, there are a few more steps to posting a video on TikTok. These steps include adding audio, effects, text, description, and hashtags. This means that you have enough time to decide whether to publish the video or to delete and reshoot the video.

Here’s how to delete existing TikTok videos from the recording screen before posting them online.

Delete TikTok video from recording and editing screen

Sometimes you start recording a video only to realize it’s inappropriate. Sometimes you can go ahead with video editing by adding a background score or making some adjustments, only to realize that the video is not up to par. Follow these steps to remove the video immediately.

Step 1: When you see the video preview on the editing screen, tap the back arrow in the left corner.

Step 2: Press the X (close button) in the upper left corner.

Step 3: Choose to start over or Ignore to delete the draft.

Start Over will keep you on the same screen and allow you to record again, while Discard will bring you back to the start screen.

Here you are. But what if you are on the post/publish screen? Proceed to the next method.

Delete a TikTok video from the post screen of your account

Step 1: Press the arrow in the upper left corner to go back.

Step 2: Press the back arrow again.

Step 3: Now, press the X button on the top left.

Step 4: Finally, choose to start over or ignore.

It should delete the existing video and allow you to start over. However, what if you have already saved some TikTok videos to the draft but you no longer need them? Follow the steps in the next section to get rid of them.

How to delete a saved TikTok video draft

If you have videos saved as a draft that you won’t post, you can remove them from the draft post or multiple posts at once. Here’s how:

Remove a video draft from your TikTok account

Step 1: Open the TikTok app and go to the Profile tab.

Step 2: Click on Drafts.

Step 3: Now, long press on the video you want to remove from drafts and click Delete Draft.

I removed the video from the draft. What do you do if you have many videos in your draft that you want to delete? Follow the next method.

Delete multiple TikTok video drafts

Step 1: Open the TikTok app and go to the Profile tab.

Step 2: Go to drafts.

Step 3: Tap Select, choose the video drafts you want to delete, then tap Delete.

Step 4: At the prompt, select Delete.

How to delete a video posted on TikTok

Sometimes, you realize that the video could have been better after you posted it. In this case, you can delete the shared TikTok video and repost it. Here’s how to do it.

NB: If your settings allow other users to download your video, there is not much you can do to prevent the video from being circulated. Even if you deleted the video from your TikTok gallery, someone might have downloaded a copy that can be re-uploaded.

Remove shared video with TikTok Mobile app

Step 1: Open the TikTok app and go to the Profile tab.

Step 2: Navigate to the video you want to delete and tap the More button (three dots) at the bottom right.

Step 3: In the third row, swipe right and tap Delete.

Step 4: Now, press Delete to confirm.

This is it! I have deleted the video posted on TikTok. Now, let’s check how to do it using the TikTok website if you are on your computer.

Delete the video using TikTok

Step 1: First, open the TikTok website and log in if you haven’t already.

Open TikTok

Step 2: Go to your profile tab from the top right and click on “View Profile”.

Click View Profile

Step 3: Select the video you want to delete.

Select the video you want to delete

Step 4: Click on the three dots icon.

Click on the three dots (more)

Fifth step: Press the Delete button.

Click the Delete button

Step 6: Now, at the prompt, tap Delete again to confirm.

Click Delete again

Your video will be deleted immediately. But what if you delete a video you didn’t mean to? Is there a way to get it back? Let’s find out in the next section.

Can you recover deleted TikTok video

When you delete a video on TikTok, it is completely removed from your account. If you can’t risk losing the video, maybe you can get access to TikTok Support Team for help. Otherwise, the video cannot be restored.

So, before deleting any video, keep a copy, this is the only way to prevent it from being lost forever. Alternatively, you can also make the videos private so that you can access them later.

How to make videos private on TikTok

Just like YouTube, TikTok also allows you to make videos private, which is a great alternative to completely deleting them. Heres how to do it:

Step 1: Open the TikTok app and go to the Profile tab.

Step 2From here, click on the video you wish to make private.

Step 3: Tap the three-dot icon in the lower right corner.

Step 4: In the third row, scroll right and select Privacy Settings.

Fifth step: Now, tap on “Who can view the video”.

Step 6: Finally, choose Only me to make the video private.

Under the privacy settings, you can also choose to share the video with friends you follow again.

Frequently Asked Questions About Deleting TikTok Videos

1. Can I delete someone else’s TikTok posts?

No, you cannot delete someone else’s posts. However, you can delete someone else’s comments on your post.

2. Can I report a video on TikTok?

You can report a video by going toReport a pageon TikTok.

3. How long are TikTok videos?

The maximum video length on TikTok has been increased from 3 minutes to 10 minutes.

Get rid of your embarrassment quickly

Shooting, editing, crafting, deleting, and reshooting is a creative process that can only be controlled to a certain extent, which we think TikTok understands. I hope this article helped you to delete embarrassing Tiktok videos from your account.


#Delete #TikTok #Video #Android #iPhone #Computer

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *